Reviews

Many of our bookings have come through other sites such as  Airbnb or Booking.com . We have included below some of the reviews that our visitors have left on these sites.

Ash House: Hannah Airbnb: June 2019

We stayed here when attending a family wedding at Rockingham Castle.. the location was perfect and the house is stylish and spotless - everything we needed was there and even a few extra special touches. Communication was fantastic from the outset and we wouldn’t recommend this place more.

 

The Apartment: Airbnb: Michelle: April 2019
A lovely little flat that had everything we needed. 5 adults and one toddler stayed but we had 2 adults pop in for a cup of tea before leaving and we had plenty of space in the living room to all sit comfortably without feeling squished in. Hosts had little extras to help travelling with a toddler easier and lighter (travel cot and high chair). We had everything we needed and everything was in very good condition. Spotlessly clean as well.

Ash House: Victoria: May 2019

Ash House is small but has everything required for a comfortable long-term stay, including washing machine and dishwasher. It is spotlessly clean and newly decorated in light, bright lemon and grey colours. The conservatory and sloping garden are sunny, while the road is quiet and residential but an easy walk into the centre of town. Dave and Sue are professional and accommodating hosts who were most helpful throughout our stay. Highly recommended. 

The Apartment: Airbnb: Cathal: April 2019

A homely, clean and spacious apartment, run by friendly hosts, very close to the centre of the lovely town of Uppingham. Sue and Dave were very easy to communicate with, during and before our stay. Highly recommended.

Ash House: Marie: Airbnb: July 2018

Dave and Sue's house in Uppingham is small but beautifully formed, and just right for our family of 3. It has recently been refurbished and everything is new, clean and bright. Sue and Dave were really accommodating with an early check in at the house and had left us homemade cake as a welcome. They also gave us some great tips on places to eat locally, and local walks. The house is on a very quiet street (we slept really well), but close to bustling Uppingham High Street with cafes, restaurants and shops. We visited Rutland Water and the Nene Valley Steam Railway and enjoyed both very much - Rutland Water in particular is a fantastic area, and we particularly liked the cruise on the Rutland Belle which sails from Whitwell Harbour. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sue and Dave's house to anyone who is visiting the Rutland area.

The Apartment: Jennifer: August 2018

Sue and Dave are fantastic hosts. The apartment was amazing and it really gave us a sense of security and feeling of home. They thought of every detail to make the apartment great. we would definitely stay at their house again

Ash House: Zhong: Airbnb: Sept 2018

Clean and comfy house,we love it. The kitchen is excellent. All the kitchen supplies are convenient. The washer is good as well. Sue and Dave are very warm-hearted, they told every details to us when we checked in. They even left us a bottle of milk as a welcome. Thank you. We strongly recommend this house to everyone who go to Uppingham.

The Apartment: Airbnb: Wei-Hsuan: June 2018

“Sue is a lovely host, she greeted us at the flat and provide us some useful information. The house is clean and have everything we need. The location is great, easy to get around by walking. Will stay again if we come back. ”

Ash House: Zuhaib: Airbnb Sept 2018

Really nice place in a lovely quiet English village. Sue was a great host and consistently went the extra mile to make our stay a memorable one. September 2018

 

The Apartment: Joy:  Tripadvisor. Oct 2018

Going to our nephews wedding in Uppingham we had the option to stay at the hotel but due to the fact our eldest son and partner were coming also with our year grandson, we decided to look for something more personal and how right we were to. We stumbled upon this site and decided to book spoke to the owner Sue prior to ensure we would be ok with the baby who was more than helpful so we booked. And yes we were not disappointed, we were met by Sue who welcomed us to her beautiful apartment. It really was home from home, the decor and furnishing was well more above standard which straight away made you feel you were at home. If you are into an Indian meal Sue recommended and rightly so their local Indian where we had a fabulous meal. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in this area then this is a must, you will not be disappointed.

All reviews below here are about the apartment as they pre-date us launching 'Ash House'

The Apartment - Andrew : Owners Direct

The apartment is exactly as it appears in the photographs; it is tastefully decorated, extremely comfortable and immediately felt like home. Dave and Sue are wonderful hosts, very attentive, thoughtful and kind. The apartment is centrally located, beautifully clean and everywhere in this lovely little town is walkable. This is one of the best properties we have stayed in and I look forward to our next visit. The only negative was leaving, it really is that kind of apartment in that kind of town!

 

The Apartment - Laura: Owners Direct

We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful and comfortable apartment, which has a great situation within walking distance of everything you need in the centre of Uppingham. We particularly appreciated the many thoughtful and considerate touches which Sue and Dave provided which really make a difference when staying self catering. They could not have been kinder. The newly decorated apartment is stylish, comfortable and immaculately clean. Highly recommended.

Jordan: Airbnb

We just loved Rutland, and Uppingham in particular. The apartment was very well decorated and tastefully furnished. It was warm and cosy with a big corner sofa to stretch out on in the spacious lounge. It was very much a' home from home' – not at all ‘corporate' or basic like some self-catering rentals. You would think an address on the High Street would be noisy but far from it, hardly any cars at all, and no drunken revellers – it's not that kind of town! The apartment was in a perfect location – just a short walk to the market place where we enjoyed a night at Don Paddy's. The kitchen was fine for our needs and very clean and well equipped, but to be honest we only used it for breakfast because we enjoyed eating out - (found a great Indian restaurant where you could take your own wine and beer called The Red Indiian). Parking wasn't a problem – we found a place on the street outside on the day we arrived and then moved it to the free parking by the cricket ground at the end of the road in the morning. We had a mooch around the antique centres , Goldmarks gallery and the independent gift shops and then went to Rutland Water to cycle so we were out all day anyway. Also used the new Sports Centre which is a 10 min walk away open to nonmembers for classes and swimming. Had a late, lovely swim in the fantastic pool open to non - members from 9-10pm. A lovely little break in a very English town in a great apartment. We would recommend – we will be back!

 

Perfectly picturesque inside and out!

Reviewed by: DKRGirl from Sheffield, United Kingdom for their stay in 05/2016

Upon first arriving we met Sue and Dave who are absolutely lovely and we were instantly impressed that they'd been so kind as to save us a parking space right outside the apartment. Fabulous start! The courtyard to the apartment is like something out of a storybook, really pretty like a little secret garden and the apartment itself once we got inside is soooo beautifully decorated in vintage shades and very homely, clean and comfortable. Sue and Dave were wonderful at showing us around and had put together a really useful and comprehensive guide on how to use/access things in the home such as utilities and wifi as well as a guide to the area making everything straightforward and easy for us, they even included menus for recommended eateries. Sadly we didn't get to sample any of the eateries on this occasion due to our schedule, but a fabulous thought none the less. We're looking forward to sampling the Indian restaurant next time! The beds were comfortable, the rooms light and airy and we had all the amenities we needed for a perfect base for our trip. We were actually quite sad that we weren't spending more time there to see more of the village and surrounding area and sample some of the restaurants as we were only there for a short stay but we were so impressed with the place that we can't wait to return, hopefully in the not too distant future!

 

Richard: Airbnb, May 2016

We had an excellent stay at Sue & Dave's apartment! It was very clean, homely, cosy and attention to detail with the chic furniture and decor, the apartment was perfect all in all. The beds were very comfy. The service from request to book until checking out was excellent. We definately will be going back there soon! Uppingham is a beautiful village with all the amenities you need include lovely pubs, restaurants and shops. I recommend this place to anyone without hesitation! Thank you Sue & Dave.

  • What Richard loved about your listing:
    Very cosy, comfy,homely, clean and lcoated in the heart of Uppingham.

What Richard thought you could improve about the experience:
Can't think of any. Excellent as they are!

RP: A most delightful apartment in the centre of Uppingham

This was the most delightful, spacious apartment in the centre of Uppingham. It was beautifully decorated, and extremely comfortable. It was close to Rutland Water which has so many activities for the whole family - cycling, canoeing, walking and sailing. Stamford and Oakham are nearby as well as Burleigh House. It was the perfect place for a short break but we would love to stay for the week

 Left on Jun 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016​

Anne Owners Direct

Fabulous property...stylishly furnished and had a warm welcome from the owners. Highly recommended.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Beautiful property which is well situated in the main part of Uppingham. Delightful owners who were very helpful and gave so much information to make our stay perfect! Many thanks! 

Date of arrival 10 June 2016

Hi Sue, We've made it back last night! Here you go... Thank you both for sharing your home. Regards, Joanne We are from San Francisco, California and wanted to get an idea of what it was like living in English country-side. Uppingham was the perfect choice. An oasis in the middle of a busy UK/Ireland vacation, it is close enough to drive to many points of interest or stay in and relax. The High Street Apartment was a charming and well-appointed home where you can spend a lovely few days (and get some laundry done, if needed). Sue and Dave were wonderful hosts and we enjoyed meeting the friendly people in the local pubs and shopping in the village. I would definitely recommend this as a vacation spot.

Date of arrival August 2016

Erwin Owners Direct

This apartment keeps all promises ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The apartment in the center of Uppingham provides you with its lovely and elegant interior the proper surrounding for peaceful vacations in rural England. Not only cultural events in Uppingham but also many treasures of England are worth visiting on a day trip. The landlords are helpful in every respect. Not only that they can provide you with helpful tips for your holidays but with their attentiveness they make you feel very comfortable.

Date of Arrival 22 July

Gabriella Owners Direct ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Fabulosa

La casa es muy bonita, está muy limpia y es muy cómoda. La propietaria es muy amable y atenta, nos preparó hasta una tarta casera. Es un sitio muy recomendable

(fabulous
The house is very nice, is very clean and very comfortable. The owner is very friendly and attentive, she cooked up a homemade cake. It is a highly recommended site)

Date of Stay August 2016

Diane Owners Direct ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Comfortable , home from home .

Excellent location for exploring Uppingham & Rutland. Would recommend boat trip on Rutland water. Welcoming & helpful hosts & loved the cake !! No problems with parking , short stroll to area suggested by Sue & Dave if you don't want to move car. Street parking after 6pm until 10 am outside was helpful . Would recommend & return. Many thanks .

Date of Stay July 2016

Jack Owners Direct ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Lovely apartment in excellent location, and lovely owners.

Had a lovely stay in the apartment / Uppingham. Will definately use again if we stay in the area again. Sue and Dave were very kind and helpful throughout. Thoroughly recommend the apartment! Thankyou

Date of Stay June 2016